Analog Input Improvement

Hi all,

I recently dicover Fez and I must say I love them. I bougth one Panda to test it and its really amazing. I’m familiar with a lot of uC, avr32, coldfire, hcs12, hcs08, even hc11 !!!, done a lot of projects in C, C++ and asm… but having an IDE like visual Studio its priceless.

I wanted to use the Panda in a course (I’m a Teacher at an University in Argentina) to collect data at a not too higher sample rate and send the data througth USB.

Soon I discover that I cannot get a reliable latency of less than a millisecond because .NET is not real time (I’m still dont know why I get 3 to 4ms of latency when nothing else is ejecuted and there is no need to run GC I’ll post a sample later).

What I want to suggest is the following:

Make analog samples work on an interrupt as a regular basics (Not too dificult in C) and put data in a round queue and let the user take data from there using a flag to indicate overflow.

Doing that could be posible to get real time samples and transmit then through USB when there is time to do so.

Could it be posible ?

I could do that myself but I dont want to erase GHI using the open version of .NET because I want to use the USB functions not present in the open source version.

By the way, as far as I know RLP its not present in USBizi, i think this is due to prevent some user to do a program to read entire flash and get USBizi firmware. I am correct ?

Thank,
Pablo

Thank you for the suggestion. This is something we thought of already. As a general idea, NETMF device is a high level device that does perfect job for non-realtime things, like SD cards, USB and networking. When a developer needs very specific timing (realtime) then they usually add a little 8-bit micro that does very simple task, like counting pulses or reading analog values. Now, what you have asked for is something that can be done and I will forward this to the GHI development team. No promises on implementing it though.