ALFAT Ready Flag Byte Issue

I am using the USB SD board and I want to use it with SPI.

The “V” command (Get Version Number) and “J” command (Read Status Register) work fine, but I cannot initialize and mount the SD card with the “I” command.
I found that the RFB ALFAT response is not right with the “I” command. I miss two RFB (blue signal)! Decreasing the bus frequency and tracking the SPI_BUSY state was not successful.

Any suggestions?

Thank you very much!

Looking at I command trace, it looks like the LSB byte has a corresponding response byte of 0x00, which signals that ALFAT is not ready for MSB. If that is true then the I command must be terminated and the I command must be re-tried until the recieve byte corresponding to LSB is 0x01.

As I am new with ALFAT and SPI, I will check with another engineer to confirm

All commands are handled similarly. The only difference between V and I commands is that V responds immediately but I needs time to finish initializing the media.

To test this, send the command, wait a second and then read the response. If this works then you are not handling SPI properly, meaning you read but SPI has no data for you yet.

OK, thank you for the quick reply.

Now I stop sending the command, if I get not 0x01 with the LSB or with other data.
But If I repeat sending the command, my function stops always at “IM”. I can not send the “:”.
The problem is, that I can not send the whole command.
At this point, I do not try to read any data e.g. "!00"
It is very strange. When I repeat sending the command, I get 0x02 as “Ready Flag Byte” and not 0x01. But checking my SPI connection and protocol seems OK.