Alex Kulcsar

Originally published at: https://www.brainpad.com/2019/08/07/alex-kulcsar/

My name is Alex Kulcsar, and I am a software and systems engineer, consultant, and educator. I live in the Ann Arbor, Michigan area, but I was raised on the “east coast” of Michigan near Saint Clair. It is a wonderful little town along the Saint Clair River. I graduated from the University of Michigan in 1998 with a bachelor’s degree of science in mathematics and a teaching certificate at the secondary level for mathematics and computer science. I also have a diploma in electronics from National Radio Institute. I recently earned a master’s degree in computer science from American Sentinel University. I will be pursuing another master’s degree in education from a Big Ten institution in the near future. Eventually, I plan to pursue a Ph.D. in either education or computer science.

After teaching high school mathematics (mostly geometry) for a year (which I thoroughly enjoyed), I returned to the University of Michigan as an systems and network analyst, where I stayed for 15 years. I was growing restless toward the end of my tenure there, so the university and I parted ways in 2012. I began work on my master’s degree at American Sentinel at that time, and I formed my company, Robo Technical Group, with my business partner and long-time friend. Through Robo Technical Group, I provide IT support to local businesses, and I contract out to educational institutions as a software and systems engineer.

Aside from my computer work through Robo Technical Group, I am an adjunct faculty member at American Business & Technology University, where I also am program chair for the computer science programs. There, I teach IT, computer science, and mathematics courses. I also teach CPR courses for local organizations here in southeastern Michigan. I have been a certified instructor with the American Red Cross for 20 years.