Main Site Documentation

Accessing ALFAT via PC and Micro-Controller

Hello,

I started playing around with my ALFAT developer kit and I am having difficulties. What I would like to do is to read/write data to the flash card in the ALFAT with a PC in addition to being able to read/write data with my micro-controller in the system.

Is there a way to have the ALFAT system show up as a drive on the PC side that I can go in and manipulate files?

Thank you

@ shanemm -

ALFAT 2.0 can do that.

Insert your flash card, init ALFAT by “I U1:D” (I don’t remember exactly), then file system will be shown in PC if connected. Refer ALFAT 2.0 docuemt for more details

Thanks for your prompt response Dat.

Is “I U1:D” a command that has to be executed in a program? I can get the ALFAT to show up as a device but not open it to manipulate the files.

@ shanemm -

This command will change USB port 1 from HOST to Device.
Insert flash sd before calling this command.
At this time ALFAT has another function same as SD Card reader. Is this what you wanted?

I see now what you are talking about and have picked up a few of the commands for the ALFAT. I can initialize an SD card, initialize the files and folders (somewhat), and open a file and assign a handle to it.

But now I am stuck at how to read and write to the file. For example I put a file on the SD card named “ANALOGG.CSV” and am able to open it for reading/writing but I am confused as to how I can get/put important information on the SD card. So in the ALFAT Explorer I have:

I M:
[strong]!00[/b]

O 1R>M:\ANALOGG.CSV
!00
R 1Z>10
!00
ZZZZZZZZZZ$00000000

But this file is pre-loaded with a bunch of different values that I want to read. Am I doing something wrong here or can ALFAT not read the contents of my file?

Also, if you could clarify the write process for me that would be awesome. This is what I entered into the ALFAT Explorer:

O 1W>M:\ANALOGG.CSV
!00
W 1>10
!00