About memory needs

Hello Everyone

I’m a beginner on GHI products and .NETMF tools. I just arrived in a very small company where I am the only one designer/developper. The company have made some design choices during the past (especially the .NETMF and USBizi) and I was called to solve their software issues urgently. Two weeks ago I already post some messages on the forum about Out of Memory Exception that occurs on our project (data logging on SD card and USB with 6dof IMU…) I finaly found a good trade off between reliability of the platform and time to market. However we probably need to reconsider some of the choice made because we need to add more functionalities to our product. Therefore I have investigated the litterature:
I need a microcontroler/microprocessor that does not consume to much
that have at least 6 analog input
perhaps 4-6 analog outputs
that supports CAN protocol
if possible 6 or more digital inputs
if possible 6 or more digital outputs
USB/SPI…

Software will be mainly dedicated to Kalman filtering for the IMU, data logging of discrete events (NMEA, IMU)…and measurements (constraints gauge at 1-10 Hz for example).

I notice that the EMX module fits well but I have some doubts. Can we know what is the maximal size of program for the bootloader, user programs. I read the specs but the values are not clear to me.

The NXP datasheets for the LPC2388(Usbizi) and LPC2478(EMX) show the same characteristics excepts for the number of IOs.

What is the usual target for the FLASH (512KB)? is it for the user program? Does the RAM serves to handles data during execution?

Sorry for these very newbie’s questions but I come from the other side of embedded systems (OMAP 3530 chip) where these constraints are not such criticals.

maybe [url]http://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/compare/[/url] will answer some of your questions.

Greetings

Hello Eric and thanks for your reply.