A G120 Based Sensor Gateway/Hub Powerhouse

My first hardware project based on the great G120 module. I am new to hardware, experienced in software, and this board would not be possible without the great community and the support from GHI team, thank you all!

The project started with a need for hardware product to take input from a sensor or two, and some communication support but quickly grew in scope, kind of what happens to lots of projects. After experimenting with various options, I decided to go with the G120 which met the core requirements, of having .NETMF as development platform, provide In Field Update, have enough GPIOs and have a great support.

The product target was the Oil field, specifically Wellsite automation and remote telemetry. It was created out of the need to have an All-In-One package that will allow data collection, some action to turn on a pump or an “enable” on an equipment or a light, while providing connectivity to the cloud and the ERP systems of our customers. Not all of the features are used in all deployments, but the list of current features allows us a flexible use in many scenarios.

After many revisions, this is the latest and I think may be the last on this product. Somewhere along the product evolution, I decided to pick an off the shelf case, so that we can use it, as in some situations our product goes into a panel with lots of wires and connections, and we needed a somewhat enclosed gadget, and now I also have case where needed.

Current list of features:

4-20mA, RS485, CANBus, TTL
RF OnBoard (ISM Band)
Relay, Pulse/Flow meter
LCD 16x2
POE Sensor RJ45
8MB Flash OnBoard
SD Card, and SIM Card
USB, Keypad,PIR Motion
Network
Expansion slot (Cellular, Satellite)

Expansion slot has few GPIOs, UART, I2C support, and partly XBEE support. We created custom expansion modules for Satellite and SIM5320, and use some OTC products (see pics).