4.3 - Fez Spider WiFiRS21

Hello,

I’m trying to get my wifiRS21 module to connect after upgrading to 4.3 with no luck. I’ve seen the documentation that gives the following line of code but when it executes it gives an error: “This interface type is already created”.

netif = new WiFiRS9110(SPI.SPI_module.SPI1, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin1, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin2, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin3);

I’ve looked around to see if there are settings I should know about regarding the pins that module uses but no luck. And I’m new to this so I wasn’t expecting much luck in the first place :open_mouth:

Thanks in advance -

Steve

@ scicco - That exception is thrown when you have an existing wifi interface created. Are you by any chance using Gadgeteer and have the module in the designer?

Hi john,

Yes and yes. I am using gadgeteer and I do have the module in the designer. I’m trying to reproduce the sample code provided in the wifi rs21 module documentation but for 4.3

Thanks

then remove the wifi module from the designer, or remove the creation of the object. You’ve just duplicated the setup of this object for no reason.

I tried both suggestions with no luck.

If I remove it from the designer I get the following error on the line of code that’s creating it:

netif = new WiFiRS9110(SPI.SPI_module.SPI1, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin1, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin2, Cpu.Pin.GPIO_Pin3);

An unhandled exception of type ‘System.Exception’ occurred in Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.dll

If I keep it in the designer and don’t create it I get the following error when I try the next line of code provided in the GHI docoument:

netif.Open();

An unhandled exception of type ‘System.NullReferenceException’ occurred in prog.exe

Progress…