3D Printer from Arduino to Gadgeteer?

*** Admins - I replied to a very old post that is in Archive. I’m starting this new topic to ask the same question because I’m not sure if the Archive shows current posts, so if this is not proper please accept my apologies and feel free to delete this post ***

I’ve been building 3d printers for a few years now and have gone through just about every know variant of hardware based on 8bit Atmega AVRs. I would love to port Marlin/Sailfish/Repetier or any 3d printer Arduino-based firmware to .NETMF and run it on a GHI 32bit mcu gadgeteer board. Has anyone done any heavy lifting in porting grbl or any CNC/3d printing control to .NETMF?

Haven’t seen anything serious but I am very interested in seeing how netmf can handle this.

That’s going to be quite a challenge. Pauses for GC will not be good for 3D printing. Wouldn’t be so bad for a regular CNC but for a 3D printer pauses = blobs. I don’t think anyone’s been crazy enough to take it on yet. I’ll be ready to plug in your firmware and give it a go when you’re ready. Good luck!

What driver hardware do you have in mind? Perhaps one of the newer RAMPS variants will work with the Cerbuino.

@ ianlee74 - would a 100ms be really a problem? Plus the code can be written to be deterministic when it comes to the gc

That’s the question… I sometimes see tiny pauses even on my Arduino based controllers and its very obvious in the prints. Most of the current controllers are pre-calculating several steps ahead of where they are currently printing so they can determine acceleration, etc. They’re also streaming data back to displays, web proxies, etc. It’s certainly possible to make it deterministic but it’ll be quite a challenge. My hat’s off to him if he puts in the effort to get it all working.