YALCQ (Yet another LED current question) :)

Hi Im back with another LED current question (I can hear Gus sigh allready) :slight_smile:

I have added a LED cube project in the Wiki (link removed) And as I say in the description I cant really get the speed of flipping the LEDs on an off fast enough to get a good POV. So is there a faster way of doing this in NETMF?

But back to the LED current.
With the 220ohm resistors that I have got on the 5mm LED it seems to work ok. But what will happen if I would try to turn on all 9 LEDs for a level on the same time? Will the current fry the board?
Or even the whole cube that would mean 3 LEDs in parallel sharing a 220ohm resistor.

I’m a hardware newbie but I think you’ll have to use one resistor for each LED.
And Gus would say 220ohm is not safe, you need 400+.
If you have a multimeter you could measure the current.

Yes, you want one resistor per LED (makes things simpler that way).

Since Ohms law says:

R = E / I

and we know that the voltage output of each pin on the FEX is 3.3V and that we would like 10ma (0.010A) of current flowing through the LED we can calculate that:

R = 3.3V / 0.01A = 330 Ohms.

You might be wondering where the 10ma of current for the LED came from? That is a general safe forward current for most LEDs. Using the 220 ohm resistors you have in your circuit now we can find that the forward current through the LED woudl be:

I = E / R = 3.3 / 220 = 0.0136A or 13.6mA, which is still pretty safe for most LEDs

One very important point though is the total current used by all LEDs. Say you have 10 LEDs each drawing 10ma, well now you are up to 100ma. While driving a few LEDs directly is easily doable from the FEX microcontroller there will be a limit as to how much power it can handle directly. I suspect that it could drive several LEDs at once, but perhaps not 20 or 30 of them. The only way to know for sure is to monitor the temperature of the chip.

Thank you for your input guys.