University project - Electronic Stethoscope

Hey guys! Im new to the world of programming. My university project is an electronic Stethoscope, that displays BPM from audio alone.
I have recently acquired a FEZ cerbuino Bee, and have completed the hardware side. I need to implement a program that reads the analogue pin A0, performs an fft and displays the graph in Visual studio (i didnt have enough of a budget to buy a gadgeteer LCD).

Could I have some guidance please? im stuggling to make this work :frowning:

Here is some FFT done in RLP:

http://www.tinyclr.com/codeshare/search?q=fft

I would use serial module as @ patc suggested.

If all you’re doing is heartbeat counting, you probably don’t even need an FFT. You can probably measure signal power or energy and determine if it’s a heartbeat from that. Probably no need to decompose the signal into its frequency components unless you’re doing something really fancy.

Or if you really need FFT you can do it on PC side as well. So your Cerbuino will just serve measured values to the PC side.

Great feedback guys, many thanks!
Unfortunately I cannot afford that gadgeteer module, the uni is very strict that everyone has the same budget to spend. it does look appealing though :slight_smile:

You raise an interesting point iggmoe, it may well be feasible to just count peak amplitude, but the problem that arises is that breathing is quite audible in a chest cavity, i would need a way to differentiate lung from heart sounds, and the frequency spectrum of each is different, hence why i thought an fft?

Your idea of sending the values to excel and having it plot them appeals to me a great deal, that way the computing power of my laptop is used, and the cerbuino is merely a medium from hardware to laptop. How would i go about actually computing an fft, and sending the variables to excel? or ought i do the fft within excel and not visual studio?