Ultrasonic Piezo?

I appear to have an ultrasonic piezo. I can’t hear a thing coming out of it… :wink: Ok, I need a little help. I’m new to piezos. Never thought I’d have a desire to make such god awful noises but Gus has inspired me. I wired it up to an Extender module connected to a Hydra on pin 7 of socket 7 and a button on socket 13 and I run the following code but no sound comes out of the piezo. I’ve validated with an LED that the pin is supplying current. What’s the secret?

This is the piezo I’m using…

Here’s the Gadgeteer code.

void ProgramStarted()
        {
            Debug.Print("Program Started");

var piezoModule = piezo.SetupPWMOutput((Socket.Pin)7);

button.ButtonPressed += delegate
            {
                Debug.Print("Pressed.");
                const float frequency = 16.35f;
                const float period = 1000000 / frequency;
                piezoModule.SetPulse((uint) period, (uint) (period/2));
                Thread.Sleep(3000);
                piezoModule.SetPulse(0, 0);
            };
        }

1000000/16.35 = 61162… so yea, you’re way outside the range of a standard piezo and human ear. Try something around 2000. Why is your frequency constant? Where did 16.35 come from? Isn’t the second parameter of SetPulse the duty cycle? If so, this should have a value of 0-100.

That was my late night attempt at reverse engineering some online code… However, I tried (2000, 50) and (2000,100) and still no go. Could I have damaged the piezo by providing too high of values?

@ Ian

I would go even lower. Concert “A” is 440hz, which is where I’d typically start, since it’s roughly in the middle of the musical scale, and thus almost certain to be reproducible by any speaker or piezo.