Trifecta of power consumption?

A Spider with WiFi, GPS and Cell.

I think I am having either power or heat issues. When all are connected I issues with the Spider getting into a reboot cycle.

For power source I have a 9V 1000mA wall adapter. However the DP module gets awfully hot very quickly. I think it’s the device near the red led which is black and has 3 connectors on one side and 1 wide one on the other. It gets very hot - almost untouchable.

Is my DP suspect?

Is my power source not powerful enough?

Can I rig it so from an extender between the DP and Spider, that the cell gets power that way?

Eventually I’d like to put all of these in a box, but am worried about the heat.

Any suggestions?

Thanks for assistance with my many questions - I am new to the Gadgeteer game.

I think this is normal as DP module is good for 800mA max but ideally 500mA.

We are currently adding power consumption info to each product so you can easily see what works and what doesn’t. Give us few days.

Ok - that would be helpful.

Any suggestions on what type of power module I should get - something like 9V and 500mA?

Did I read that you guys are working on a higher power DP?

Yes higher power is to come soon.

I think you can use sp module with powered hub but we need the new numbers.

[quote=“Gus”]
Yes higher power is to come soon. [/quote]

+1 !

1 Like

Thanks!

I was wondering,
wouldn’t it be better if the Gadgeteer team rewrote the specs for Modules that require higher Power consumption to include their own way of adding external power…
For example: let’s assume a GPS Module consumes 1A which is more than what the DP can handle, what if that Module has an on board plug and some circuit that would allow it to automatically switch to using the on board plug/power when that plug is connected… so the user will have a choice to use direct power when necessary…

1 Like

That makes huge amounts of sense. I know some modules allow for external power input on the pads.