Tinyclr MOD-GPS modified code

Hello all,

A while ago some guys were working on the mod-gps source code to get more accurate gps signals (like in meters)

My (and Colin’s) question therefor is: is there any news regarding this? Is there any progress? Maybe even source code?

I would love to connect the gps on my robot and get a gps signal to work with, instead of one with (I believe) kilometers as coördinates.

Thank you! ;D

Are you intent on using MOD-GPS? I ask because I am a developer on the DotSpatial project at [url]http://dotspatial.codeplex.com/[/url]. These guys have an existing compact framework GPS implementation that I have considered porting parts of to NETMF. The big benefit would be using an object model that a lot of other (non-NETMF) developers are already using. Check out the DotSpatial.Positioning namespace for details. This part of the project was from a depreciated commercial project that transitioned to this open source effort.

I do remember the thread from ‘awhile ago’, maybe late fall, where folks here were trying to get something together regarding a ‘standard’ NETMF GPS solution, which is what motivated me to ponder a NETMF port of the DotSpatial project.

Well… I have the mod-gps lying around here, so why not use it?
If this thing is not working correctly or what ever, please let me know.

I dug into the code yesterday and I found out that the complete gps location is being found by the gps, but not returned. It seems like it is getting split or something?

Eric, what exactly is this project you are referring too? Will it work with every gps or only certain ones?

The DotSpatial project is a whole bunch of libraries that make it easy for GIS geeks to easily manipulate their data with geo-friendly object models. Most of the project is centered around GIS, but it also has a bunch of classes for gathering GPS data. The geopositioning industry is (thankfully) very standards based, and this work incorporates those where necessary.