Super-noob questions - getting started

I just got a FEZ Panda board, I have VS2010 with NETMF installed. I installed the GHI USB drivers and put the latest firmware on the Panda (4.1 something I beleive).

I’m a seasoned .NET developer, I’ve done some hobbyist-type stuff with sensors (using Phidgets), but I’m new to NETMF.

I checked out the samples, but couldn’t really find one that did the basics. I don’t have any input or output at the moment, so I just want to, in code A) see if I’m running in an emulator or not and B) get some basic information about the system/board/firmware/etc. Just using intellisense and trying different things, I get InvalidOperationException with just about everything I try using the emulator first.

Anyone have any good resources on how to start off with some basic output of some useful information about the current environment?

Also, I tried to add a reference to FEZPanda_GHIElectronics.NETMF.FEZ because I assume this is going to have some Panda-specific functionality, but this blows up when I run it via the emulator.

How do you make an emulator that acts like a Panda board?

Signed, the Newb - thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

We have some resources that will help you started:

Free e-book:

http://www.tinyclr.com/downloads/Beginners%20guide%20to%20NETMF.pdf

Beginners Tutorial:

http://www.tinyclr.com/downloads/FEZ_Tutorial.pdf

There is more info on Wiki as soon as it is up again.

yeah welcome Rob.

The emulator will always complain that you don’t have a Panda attached if you attempt to deploy to it with the FezPanda_GHI(blah) reference added. That you can ignore. But if you attempt to reference stuff that only GHI add, then you’re not going to get much further - there really isn’t a complete method to do that (actually someone was working on emulating a Fez, did that go anywhere?).