SPI with MountaineerEth board and RGB 595 board

I am new to the .NETMF and Gadgeteer. I am trying to run some LEDs using the following parts:

MountaineerEth Board - http://www.mountaineer-boards.com/home/ethernet-mainboard/#cc-m-product-5788636181

RGB DMX 512 / SPI (TTL) Decoder - usLEDsupply - Your source for High Tech RGB color LED lights, DMX controllers, and LED lighting supplies at wholesale prices.

I have some code written but nothing is working so far. I would love some help verifying that my wiring is correct and that my code is right also. My wiring is as follows.

MOSI → 1D
MISO → Not connected
SCK → 1C
GND → 1G

I have only one light strip connected right now. I am not using the a CS signal from the Mountaineer board. I am not sure what to do with the 1L on the decoder (595). I can’t seem to find any documentation on this decoder. I am glad to post my code but my gut tells me that the code is not my main problem. I do, however, get some unexpected results when I use a loop back cable too. I think the 1L pin needs to be used but I am not sure how.

I also don’t understand how the data needs to be formated when using the Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.SPI libraries. I have looked at some quick start guides and sample code and so far I am still lost. Can anyone help?

Thanks!

Hi Darbyln, welcome to the forum!

The CS line is “Chip Select”, which in SPI terms tells a device on the bus that it is required to listen to the bus and is permitted to output to the bus, so I would expect that you need to connect that.