Speed of Cobra whilst drawing

Hi everyone,

Firstly, I’ve just got my cobra and it’s a dream to develop for. I’m new to netmf so I hope none of these questions are too silly. :slight_smile:

I’m working on a project with a FEZ Cobra and one of the 7inch screens (which is beautiful btw :D) and I’m finding the whole thing a little slow. For my application I will need much faster performance but I realise that I’m dealing with lots of images so I was looking for some advice.

Am I wasting lots of processor time sending a my bitmap buffer to the LCD? My tests didn’t show much of a speed increase when I reduced the size of the buffer in half.

Is there a way to update only small parts of the lcd to speed things up?

Is WPF much faster?

I’ve gone with the bitmap approach because that’s what I’m familiar with but I will listen to reason.

Other than these issues my experience with FEZ has been most positive.

Thanks in advance.
-Thom.

Thom,

Welcome to the forum!

I highly recommend to check this thread:

http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/1/1904/

It is hard to say without an example of your code.

Search for Pyxis2 on this forum and check the codeplex as well:
http://pyxis2.codeplex.com/

So here is my codes;

I’ve got a full screen background image that is loaded into the LCD buffer once. Then many small squares are drawn on top. Touching one of these squares changes it’s state and a different colour is displayed.

Interaction with the grid is slow and the screen only updates a couple of times a second. Really only very small pieces of the screen need to be updated at any time but i’ve not worked out how to do that yet.

using System;
using Microsoft.SPOT;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Input;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation.Controls;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Presentation.Media;
using Microsoft.SPOT.Touch;
using GHIElectronics.NETMF.Hardware;
using System.Threading;

namespace BopperSequencer
{