So many options, which platform to settle on?

Hi all,

I am new to netmf and GHI products in general. I was very excited to see the FEZ Panda and netmf 4.2 support of VB! I have done some work in the past with Basic Stamps and PICAXE platforms until last week when I stumbled upon the GHI website.

I have already ordered the FEZ ultimate kit to get started but now am wondering if this was the wrong approach. Seems like there aren’t many VB examples on the web and so far I have not been able to get even a simple Led flash project working on the emulator in VB 2010 full version.

I don’t really want to invest the time in learning assembly, C# would be OK I guess.

Is there a better platform to get started with otherthanthe Panda II?
Thanks,
Don

VB support is brand new, so sample apps are few and far between. Most embedded developers come from a C (and derivatives) background, so C# is their NETMF language of choice.

The Panda II is a great starter board, particularly if you are used to the Arduino header arrangement. Many Arduino shields have been ported to NETMF. Unfortunately, it is at end of life, and while it will be supported for a long time to come, you won’t see a Panda III. The Cerbuino Bee is another similar form factor. It takes a bit to get used to the Gadgeteer way of doing things, but is great, particularly if you like “plug and play” kind of tinkering. Once you’ve transitioned to Gadgeteer, all whole bunch of possibilities open up with GHI products. The high end of the “hobby” line is the upcoming G120 (some may say it is targeted more towards the commercial market). It is a “straight up NETMF” board, meaning not Gadgeteer. This thing packs some serious performance in a tiny package, and is an extremely good price for the feature set.

@ ransomhall - All said and explained very well, thanks :slight_smile: But I have a clarification please.