Problem with simple InterruptPort

I’m working on a simple garage door sensor with a magnetic switch, and attaching it to an InterruptPort. For my tests, I just have a jumper from IO14 and a jumper from the 3v, and to turn it “on” I cross them.

Anyway, here’s my simple code. The problem is it’s unreliable. Here’s the output where I basically crossed and uncrossed the jumper wires every second or two. My final state was open, so the interrupt should have sent me a 0 state, but it didn’t.

I’m new to this, so I’m sure I’m doing something wrong…

Output:
1/01/2009 02:31:38: interrupt=True
01/01/2009 02:31:40: interrupt=False
01/01/2009 02:31:41: interrupt=True
01/01/2009 02:31:43: interrupt=True

Any suggestions?

private static InterruptPort _garageSwitch = new InterruptPort((Cpu.Pin)FEZ_Pin.Interrupt.IO14, true, Port.ResistorMode.PullDown, Port.InterruptMode.InterruptEdgeBoth);
		static void GarageSwitchOnInterrupt(uint port, uint state, DateTime time)
		{
			bool interruptState = state != 0;
			Debug.Print(DateTime.UtcNow + ": interrupt=" + interruptState);
		}
		public static void Main()
		{
			_garageSwitch.OnInterrupt += GarageSwitchOnInterrupt;
			Thread.Sleep(Timeout.Infinite);
			return;
		}

You are using both edges. Can you try to trigger interrupt on either edge?

Hi Gus,

When I do that, I only get either true or false (depending on whether I use InterruptEdgeHigh or InterruptEdgeLow) only. What I really wanted was true for closed, false for open so I needed both.

What I’m trying to do as my first project is a basic garage door sensor project. I have a relay switch hooked up to a wireless transmitter for my door opener, and I have a magnetic switch to tell me when the door is open/closed. I finished the hardware and was on to the software when I noticed this issue.