Powering Cerberus

Hello,

I have a question about powering the FEZ Cerberus board without using one of the GHI power modules.

Since we want to power the FEZ Cerberus from the power-line (230V AC), I want to know if the Cerberus will work when we supply 3.3V on pin 1 and 5V on pin 2. Or is it needed to set some voltage on one of the other pins?

I am a newbie and with my little knowledge I can see that in the schematics of the USB Power DP module, PIN 7 have Vcc on it. Also, when I using a multi-meter I have found that pin 7 is 3.3 V when I have attached the USB Power DP module to an adapter.

I have found a PCB mounted power supply from MeanWell. The PM10-5 (https://www.meanwell-web.com/product-info/ac-dc-power-supply/pcb/pm-10/product/PM-10-5) seems suitable to me. Combining the GHI USB Power SP module logic and so using a LM1117-3.3 with an electro cap, the 3.3V can be substracted from the 5V in my opinion. Should it work or am I missing something?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Jaap

Yes, you can power through these pins on any socket. As long as the power provided through only one socket.
Yes on your proposed solution as well.

First of all, I’m not sure what you mean when you refer to the “module logic” – there is nothing on the USB SP module other than a USB connector and a voltage regulator. If you don’t need a USB port, then providing power to the Cerberus is sufficient to get it to start up. Don’t worry about power sequencing, since the Cerberus itself only uses the 3.3V rail.

That actually brings up another thing to think about: you usually need a 5V rail. Unless one of your modules explicitly requires it, you only need to provide the 3.3V rail to the board, so check the schematics of your modules first.

If you don’t need a 5V rail, try to find a switching converter that outputs 3.3V directly. Your same supplier has a 3.3V version:
https://www.meanwell-web.com/product-info/ac-dc-power-supply/pcb/pm-10/product/PM-10-3.3