Porting the discontinued pir module driver from 4.2 to 4.3

hi all,
i am kinda new to this all gadgeteer so i’m asking here, i want to use the discontinued ghi pir module (motion sensor) with the 4.3 sdk (which is not supported, the pir supports 4.2).

i saw this post : https://www.ghielectronics.com/community/forum/topic?id=16535

where someone explained how to port the t35 driver to 4.3 from 4.2 using the te35 driver.

can i do something similar with the pir driver (copy it and just change values from 4.2 to 4.3 + registery editing or something else)? or is it a lot more work or even impossible and i should find another solution?

thanks,
ofir

thanks for the quick reply,

so i will try download the source and change the target framework.

sorry if this sound dumb, but the only thing i did not understand is your last line :

does that mean i need to go over the code and see if there are any functions that does not exists in the 4.3 and if so change them to something that does exists and do the same thing?

edit : nvm, i feel stupid now…
you meant to go trough my code, the one that i wrote and change things to work with the 4.3.

thank you, you helped me alot.
if i’ll have trouble porting the driver i’ll come back here.

As the driver is written for 4.2 you might have a look at https://www.ghielectronics.com/docs/297/transitioning-from-4.2-to-4.3

But the PIR module is simple, so it wont be difficult, and its a good learning exercise.

Remember to post your ending code on codeshare, when you have tested it works great :slight_smile:

that link seems extremely useful for me right now, thank you.

and sure, i’ll post in codeshare once everything will work and also here, if anyone ever searches for it.

All discontinued modules have a separate sdk. Please find and install from the support page.

I you’re going to port and rework the driver, do the world a favor and release it via NuGet?