Panda II rs232 communication

Hello,

I’d like to use my Fez Panda II to communicate with a device with the RS232 protocol. To be more precise its my A/V Amp.
I was wondering if this would do the trick: [url]http://www.sparkfun.com/products/133[/url]. I also wonder how many of these i can use as i see that the panda has 4 com ports? I know the arduino had a kind of software serial library, is something like that available for the Panda II too? And how many would i be able to hook up once i get my fez touch, fez connect shields plugged in.
Since i am quite new to this micro controllers things, i don’t know anything about UART, SPI and whatnot, but i don’t let that get into my way of using them ;).

How many ports do you need for your application ? What kind of devices are you connecting to ?

I am trying to understand if the other devices are TTL or RS232.

It may help to get started using http://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/182
HTH.

How many ports do you need?! What else is on your setup?

Rajesh, its my A/V amp (and later on maybe my television). So its rs232, its still a standard in audio/video components to send and receive components.

Gus, I think i want at least 2 RS232’s, but the more the merrier. I am planning on adding the touch and the connect shield and also a led matrix ([url]ShieldStudio.com is for sale | HugeDomains), because it looks nice and i would like to run it in a clock modus or something like that. I might even want to add xbee support later on, for some wireless communication. On top of these big components, i ll also be using some pwm ports for output and a few digital ports (buttons and stuff).
As a side note, is it possible to have a button “shut off/turn on” the touch shield, sort of an eco mode to keep the panda running but not the shield.