Own module attempt to use i2c comms

Hi,

I have been playing with a Spider board for some time, and even managed to create a basic module for 2x16 LCD. Now I am trying to get a more complicated setup going where I have another Microprocessor communicate with the Spider on i2c. I have no experience with i2c, but this is sort of the aim - to learn something new. For the other Microprocessor I am using a Arduino NANO.

On the Arduino NANO (my “module”) I have created a basic sketch that does the following:

• initialise i2c slave mode with an address of “50”
  • define, initialise a LED on pin 13
  • define pin 14 as an interrupt pin from the Arduino to the Spider (to indicate to the Spider that data is ready from the “module”)
  • initialise Serial on 9600
  • the main program consist out of a delay and creates an interupt every 4 seconds (similating data is ready to be read)
  • when a request comes in from the Mainbord (Spider) on the i2c bus, then the Arduino will flash the LED once. Read the byte coming in on the i2c bus, and echo it back on the i2c and also send the same byte out on the Serial (so I can see in a terminal program, what the Arduino receives).

Here is my Arduino code:

#include <Wire.h>

int led=13;                     //pin 13 has an led connected on most Arduino boards.
int datardy=12;                 //pin 12 is connected to pin 3 (interrupt) on the socket
int rdy=0;                      //counter to create a delay to simulate some sensor readings
byte inByte;

void setup()
{
  Wire.begin(50);               //join i2c bus with address #2
  Wire.onRequest(requestEvent); //fires when theres a request from i2c master
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);         //initialize digital pin 13 as an output
  pinMode(datardy, OUTPUT);     //initialize digital pin 12 as an output
  Serial.begin(9600);           // start serial for output
  Serial.println("Aduino NANO: ok");
}

void loop()
{
  delay(100);                   //pauses for 100 ms