Node.js

Last night at the GANG meeting in Southfield MI, Glenn Block talked about Node.js and some of the highlights made me wonder if Node.js would be a good candidate for a lightweight webserver on .net micro framework devices.

Right now it’s rather complicated to build a stable webserver using sockets.

So the question is, is Node.js something GHI would be interested in to add as a (proprietary?) feature? I think it could open new possibilities to build rich content webservers with javascript on embedded devices, while abstracting away the difficulties that come with building a sockets webserver from scratch.

@ Felix,

While I have no experience with other FEZ gear, and don’t know what your requirements are for a webserver on the device, I discovered last night that the ethernet module on the FEZ Spider gadgeteer board makes it super-easy to set up a simple web server and allow it to respond to requests to a given path. No sockets required.

So while node might be interesting, at least in the case of the FEZ Spider, it might not be necessary, depending on your scenario.

I only experienced with an EMX board, indeed it’s very easy to do simple web requests.
However more compliant webservers with proper header parsing, load balancing, some basic security etc, is more complicated and requires sockets and threading. I believe there are some limitations on how many connections can be open, and doing stress testing will often lock the device, but it was a while since I tried that and things might have changed.

@ Felix

We’re probably talking about different scenarios, then. I think the technique I’m talking about is best suited for simple needs.

Bear in mind that while Node is cool, it’s also rapidly changing, so might be a bit of a moving target in terms of integrating with embedded software.

Yes that’s true, simple scenarios like open TCP and listen for a known substring is fine, but if you want to do some forms and more interaction, it quickly becomes a pain.