No USB at all

I am a newbie. Just received the Hydra main board and USB Client DP (1.3) today.

When I plug the USB into the PC, I do not even hear the “ding dong” sound when a USB device is plugged in. The other USB devices I use are working fine and I have confirmed the USB port is ok.

OS is Windows 7.

The connection is USB cable to USB Client DP (I assume both power and data is supplied via the USB connection and I do not require additional plug pack into the DC power socket).

I have connected the 10-way cable to port 1 of the Hydra mainboard.

The RED LED on power supply and Hydra are both ON and if I press the reset switch then the Green LED lights momentarily but absolutely no activity on the USB port

I have also installed the SDK’s and WINUSB drivers as per the setup guide.

Any help much appreciated.

Welcome to the forum. Please try non WinUSB drivers with Hydra.

Thanks for the prompt response.
Do you have a quick step how to use non WINUSB drivers?

Also, in my experience, the windows OS always “ding dongs” when I plug usb devices into the port - even if no drivers are installed. This kit does not do that at all. It does not even appear to try to detect the device like it does for other usb devices.

I would try different Usb cable, port.

Different USB cable and port make no difference

@ orbitcoms -[quote] Do you have a quick step how to use non WINUSB drivers?[/quote]

Assuming you are using the very latest SDK (2013 R3).
Use control panel > programs and features to unistall GHI … USB … driver.
run Setup.exe that you used to install the SDK
unclick all the various packages in the install menu
select install Legacy Drivers, follow the prompts

On our web site Support>Documents>USB Drivers (choices, including WinUSB)
Also see: Support>Documents>NETMF and Gadgeteer Troubleshooting