.NET Gadgetter sending pictures to pc

Hi everyone ,

How the title says , i’m traying to send pictures to my pc, but dont really know how. I got serial port module , bluetooth module , WiFi module and Ethernet module.

1. Which module should i use for fastest sending speed ? and if it’s possible could you guys show me some examples how to send pictures for that module.

ps. I’m new to this stuff.

welcome Reack.

great first project :slight_smile:

Actually you may need to throttle back your expectations. This kind of device is not like a USB camera - if you want a USB camera, I’d suggest you buy a purpose built one and keep your Gadgeteer kit for other projects. If you just want to do this to prove you can, then that’s fine, lets keep talking.

I’d break this down into a few different tasks. And the LAST thing to think about is what connection you’re going to use.

The first thing you need to think about is how are you going to view the captured image - ask yourself questions like do you have an application that saves it to disk and you manually open it, or do you expect it to be displayed in a browser? Really you need to explain what the use-case is because that helps set the direction for all the possible options. And in your question you talk about speed - what is that important ?

The answer to your question is likely to be Ethernet, but that doesn’t mean anything until we really understand your use case. There are many reasons that you would choose any or all of those module options, but it totally depends on what you need.

Sending images to PC is a topic that was discussed several times in this forum.
Just have a look at
https://www.ghielectronics.com/community/forum/topic?id=17026
If you search through the forum you will find more.

@ Brett - Hi Brett , answering the question i’ll be sending pictures to regular drive. I’m building a mini security system that every time someone triggers the sensor camera takes picture and sends it to PC.