Musings on garbage collection, performance, timing jitter and power consumption

I help develop hardware and software for battery powered instruments and moorings that remain in the ocean (surfaced and submerged) for several years collecting data for scientific research.

Although I’m not a “noob” developing with ARM processors and embedded C/C++, I’m a complete novice with C# and the Gadgeteer environment. I’m investigating the use of GHI’s products to minimize development time and effort for oceanographic instruments. So far, our results have been very encouraging.

Several of my organization’s other instruments or platforms use Java running on top of embedded Linux. Java’s garbage collection has been very problematic for devices
that are deployed for long periods of time. Either storage was completely exhausted or the JVM spent a long time reclaiming storage at unpredictable intervals . All of the garbage collection related problems have been reduced to nuisance level but were severe enough to give pause about using any software environment that relies on GC.

Any anyone used NETMF and Gadgeteer controllers to build long running apps? Any comments about the impact of NETMF’s garbage collection on long running apps would be welcomed.

CLR seems to be an interpreted environment driven with “byte codes”. The NETMF documentation mentions “Just In Time” compilation to machine code. Do GHI’s products do any JIT translation? If not, are there any rough rules of thumb for the overhead of the byte code interpreter? Our apps don’t require much performance but I like to know what things “cost” to some degree.