Multi-threading vs optimisation?

Hi,

I am at a decision point in an application, and was wondering if anyone had experience in the options available to me?

I have a program transmitting CAN on 2 channels very reliably. However, when I change certain data in the CAN frames, I also update a 16x2 display via I2C. This is done synchronously in the same thread, and takes typically 150ms or so, suspending CAN transmission during this time. As I have frame periods of 40ms and up, this obviously plays havoc with my accuracy!

I tried moving the CAN transmission loop to a separate thread using simple threading such as “new Thread(CANSendingLoop).Start();”. But this slowed down the CAN sending thread (adding 20ms or so to all frame periods), and the display update happened at 1 character a second!

I am new to threading, but is there a large overhead with implementing threading which will cause slowdown like this in a CPU-intensive scenario?

My other option is to optimise the (seemingly-slow) display update (only update those parts of the display that I need to each time), minimising the temporary delay to the main loop…

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on the best way to head that anyone has!

Nick

Ooops! A key bit of info I forgot to add!

I am using a Fez Panda II.

Thanks

what display are you using?
In general you will want to remember that you have two challenges on the Panda related to communications.
#1 - this isn’t a real time system, as such there is not a predictable response time for operations.
#2 - There is only one processing core. So spawning threads adds overhead and no performance improvement.