Mass production from Gadgeteer prototype?

Hi guys,

I am currently evaluating using the Gadgeteer platform for a small hardware project I have. My background is in software engineering and I am very strong in C#. But I have almost no experience with electronics, which is why the platform is so appealing to me.

However, I am worried about how I would go from prototype to mass production on the Gadgeteer platform. Is there anyone that has done this that can point me at material to walk me through the process? Specifically I’m wondering how I go about producing a design that I can hand over to a fabricator. What design files do I need, what software do I use, etc?

I don’t mind lengthy reads or learning new concepts or software. It would just be nice to have a little guidance from someone who has done it before :).

Thanks!

hi mikdav, and welcome to the forum

I am not sure how forthcoming some of the “commercial use” folk can be here, but needless to say there are people who have done and continue to do what you’re thinking of.

Much discussion comes from the “scale” of your commercial project. If you’re going to sell 10 or perhaps even 100 devices a year, perhaps using Gadgeteer components directly is still a sensible approach. At some point your scale becomes a trigger for needing to move to a custom design (or it might be other factors - space constraints for example).

Many of the commercial use discussions that are scattered here on the forum imply that those commercial teams have electrical engineering experience doing the PCB design and layout work, so that may be a consideration for you since you don’t seem to have any.