Know your community: Thom Holtquist (skewworks)

Who are you? What do you do outside skewworks?
I am Thom Holtquist, and outside of Skewworks I keep very busy indeed. During the day I work as a Software Architect. When I’m not working at either of those jobs, I’m raising 2 amazing sons, performing sketch comedy and writing stories.

Where are you located?
Aurora, Illinois. A little suburb about 30 minutes outside Chicago.

How did it all start?
Skewworks all got started when my oldest son asked for an Arduino for his birthday. At the time I didn’t know much about it, but it was inexpensive and seemed like a good thing for him. After seeing how much fun he had, well I couldn’t help but give it a go myself. Soon I began an 8 month long project to bring graphics and the ability to load external programs on the Arduino. I called the project Pyxis after a constellation, a favorite naming convention of mine, and the project got so much attention I found I couldn’t stop.

Why did you switch to NETMF and gadgeteer?
I had barely completed Pyxis when a user emailed me asking about the posibility of porting to a FEZ Domino running the .NET Micro Framework. Having come from a .NET background I immediately ordered one up, but found the screen sync just wasn’t good enough to support a port of Pyxis.
I was disappointed at not being able to find a screen that would work for .NET the way I did for Arduino, but I was determined to find something. I got kits from a few other NETMF vendors before finally grabbing a Cobra. The Cobra was fast, powerful and working with it’s LCD was a dream. So I immediately began work on Pyxis 2 and haven’t stopped using NETMF or GHI kit since.