Is this possibe : measure speed of object moving at around 100mph

hello. I’m a absolute novice at electronics(but can code .NET) and wanted to know if the following would be possible. I want to measure the speed of a small object which could be moving at 100mph. I was thinking about using 2 IR reflective sensors at a set distance appart and just measure the time between sensor triggers. would IR sensors be acurate/fast enough at detecting such quick movement.

@ i*windows - Welcome :slight_smile:

What distance / accuracy are you looking at?
Being that .netmf is not real time it wont be perfect but depending on your needs might be fine with the IR triggers

hi @ Justin. So the distance of the object from the sensors will be <5cm, and the distance to measure will be <20cm. I am trying to measure the speed of a golfclub as it travels over 2 points. I would like it to be acurrate to 2 or 3mph - but the most important thing is that the results are consistent. I dont mind if the calculated speed is a little out, but I want it to be consistent. Once I have managed to get 2 points to work I would like to create an array of sensors that can also measure the path of the club.

By my maths this speed equates to 44.704 m/s and therefore I think the real question is how far apart will your two sensors be? If they were 44.704 metres apart then 1 second would elapse between the first and second sensor firing. As they get closer the time between the two timing events shorter. At 1 metre the time between the first and second timing event would be approx. 22ms. When you know how close the sensors are you should be able to determine the time between the two events. Then you will need to determine if H/W running a RTOS will be accurate enough for the accuracy you need in your measurements.

It might be worth considering some external hardware that accumulates ticks between the first and second timing events and these ticks could then be used to determine speed.