IR LED Array Module v1.0 - Hardware now available (limited quantities)

All,

I’m pleased to announce that, thanks to all of the help from the TinyCLR community, v1.0 of my IR LED Array module is now available in limited quantities.

I’ve assembled the first batch of boards, and will be sending those out today or tomorrow, so if you’ve already been in touch with me, you should be good to go.

Some quick points, to set expectations appropriately:

[ol]This module is designed to work with a .NET Gadgeteer-compatible mainboard. While it could certainly be used for other things, its intended as a module, so I cant really help with other uses.
Im not a professional electronic designer, and this is very much a seat-of-the-pants design. It works for my use-case (controlling an IR remote control helicopter), but I cant promise it will work for every purpose you might want to try.
The PCBs I had made for the module are prototype-quality boards, and have not been electrically tested by the PCB fabricator, so while I will test each module that I assemble to ensure that they work prior to sending them out, if you order as a kit, theres a small possibility that the board could have manufacturing issues (in which case I would certainly replace it at no cost).
I have not yet finished the driver software for the modules. I can send you some code that will work fine for generating IR pulses in the interim, but given my work schedule its possible that it might be mid-March before Im able to finish the driver.[/ol]

Given those caveats, if you are interested in getting an IR LED Array module of your own, please head over to The Garage - Low Code Life, and follow the link to contact me.

P.S. - once the initial batch of modules are in the hands of the lucky recipients and I have some feedback that the design is working as intended, it is my intention to open source both the hardware and software.

No logo on the PCB? :frowning:

@ ianlee74