Hydra and ENC28 networking issues

Hi all,

I’m new to Hydra, but have dabbled with Netduino and netmf a bit. I’m developing an ethernet connected data logging and protocol sniffing system and like Hydra’s resources and openness. However, I have come across a couple of issues related to ethernet.

My Hydra currently has ethernet-enabled firmware 4.1.2821.0 (solution ver 4.1.3.1) and that’s what I’ve been experimenting with. I started updating to the 4.2 beta firmware then realised it does not have ethernet support yet, so am back to 4.1.

I can get Hydra communicating nicely with a webserver (only doing POSTs for now) using the ENC28 module. I’ve only got it working with static IP yet, but DHCP functionality is a requirement for this application. I’ve tried setting that up through MFDeploy but had no luck. Does it need to be done programmatically (in application code) or is it just not fully supported yet?

I also notice that Hydra works fine UNTIL the ethernet cable is disconnected from the ENC28, and then it seems to lock up. I have a heartbeat LED flash in a separate thread, and I do the ethernet connection (endpoint and then socket.connect) in another thread in a try/catch, but everything locks up when I try socket.connect() after pulling the cable out. No heartbeat or debug activity. Only a reset (button or poweroff) gets it working again.

If the ethernet cable is not present at bootup, the connection attempt fails immediately with an exception and there’s no lockup.

I wonder if anyone else has similar issues, or if there’s a better way to do things. I’ll try to post some code once I’ve got a sample organised.

Also, what’s the status or timescale for ethernet/ENC28 support on 4.2 firmware. Is that likely to be dynamic ethernet instead of the 4.1 style compiled-in support? I’m afraid I don’t yet have the experience to be contributing much to the firmware but that may come in time…