How to use LCD display (touchscreen) with cerberus

I want try a graphic lcd (touch screen) on the cerberus board. Anyone have any idea?

The Gadgeteer LCD display requires R, G, and B sockets. Touch uses an T socket.

Cerberus has none of those.

So you can’t use a standard LCD with standard touch interface.

You could get the OLED display and figure out how to add a touch interface to that. That would use the S interface and potentially two of your A sockets.

You otherwise would need to find a display with an SPI interface and some other touch controller.

I’m new to these modules as well, and was interested in doing the same thing. Would there be anyway to extend the capabilites of the device to support the display, perhaps without the touch?

There is already a display that works, the OLED display that uses S socket.

Keep in mind that Cerberus has plenty of memory to do anything but graphics are very much RAM hungry. I suggest you invest a bit more money and get a board whit more RAM if you want real graphics. Like using Glide library …etc.

A very small image 128x64pixel image is about 16KBytes which is large part of Cerberus 112Kbytes heap but if you use hydra or spider then you have over 8000KBytes. See the difference :slight_smile:

Welcome to the community.

Is there a managed driver for OLED Display? Or do we have to write by our own?
Isn’t that possible to use Touch, if we modify pin map on existing driver provided by community and wire it manualy to Cerberus?
Sorry for newbie questions.

@ ce -

Check these code submissions:

http://www.tinyclr.com/codeshare/entry/375
http://www.tinyclr.com/codeshare/entry/173

and Gadgeteer OLED Module driveron codeplex.

These are very similar.

@ Architect
Thanks a lot. I wasn’t aware of codeplex one. This will answer lots of my questions. =)

Why is there not a display for Gadgeteer like the FEZ Touch?

The Cerberus has roughtly 3 times the memory of Panda, so why not? :slight_smile: