Help with setting up serial communication on FEZCerbuinoBee

I am just starting development on the FEZCerbuioBee hardware board. I have a XBee radio that i want to act as a coordinator for two Xbee router radios.I’ve updated with the latest Firmware on the deviceFEZCerbuionBee I’ve installed VS2012 Professional, .NET Micro Framework 4.2 and 4.3 and I’ve installed .NET Gadgeteer which also has these frameworks in it’s subdirectories. I have some experience in C# but I can’t seem to get the serial communication between the board and my computer to work.

I’ve attached a screen shot i’m having trouble understanding what to do with the GT.sockets class and it is also confusing to which serialPort class to call as there seem to be several. Can someone help explain how to set up a basic serial connection with these libraries and how they interact with each other?

I also want to add that I’m connecting via the mini-usb port on this board to my PC which is running windows 8.

More specifically, I’m trying to use the USB Client mode on the FEZ CerbuinoBee

Hi,
you can use the usbSerial Module to communicate with your PC.
https://www.ghielectronics.com/catalog/product/287
with this module you can initilize the Serial port:

try
                {
                    usbSerial.Configure(115200, GTI.Serial.SerialParity.None, GTI.Serial.SerialStopBits.One, 8);

}
                catch (Exception e)
                {
                    Debug.Print(e.ToString());
                }
                if(!usbSerial.SerialLine.IsOpen)
                {
                    usbSerial.SerialLine.Open(); 
                ]

May be that it is possible to use the mini-usb on the board, but I don’t know how.

To use a Serial port on an U socket you can add a reference to Gadgeteer.Serial
then

public GTI.Serial serialPort;
Socket socket = Socket.GetSocket(socketNumber, true, this, null);