GUI needs a lot work

I’ve managed to add a button to the LCD display but graphically, it is very basic.

Has anyone considered porting Glide to TinyCLR2.0? I know Mifmasterz has something on his GITHUB (Gravicode) page but there were issues with missing features in TinyCLR1.0 that stopped his progress. I don’t know if he has looked at this again with TinyCLR2.0 to see if the missing features have been included.

I’d like to work on something and add more graphical elements to it. Give the buttons a nicer look etc.

The great thing with Glide was how fast it was to create a GUI, especially using the late BlackdogSpark’s Glide Studio. We need something similar for TinyCLR2.0

2 Likes

WPF is nice because it scales with the display and uses less ram. Glide was more user friendly but it is fixed to a specific size and it was ram hungry.

I think we just need WPF examples to make it easier.

2 Likes

I am no expert but if I understand WPF correctly, on the desktop it stores the design layout in a xaml file format. I suppose it should be possible to process the xaml file to create a TinyCLR compatible C# file for displaying the screen.

When you get around to publishing some examples please show some examples that show the best way to update data on the screen and tie in touch events. I was able to do some but I am not sure it is correct. Also need some examples that handle multiple windows with background processes running and updating those multiple windows.

As an example I created a dispatch timer for a window. Each time the timer fires I wanted to update the data in multiple text locations. It did work but it wasn’t very scalable. There is no “Name” value in the UIElement class to help identify each element that is a child of the parent window(panel). You have to address them by the index or the order in which they were added to their parent. That is not real workable for a window that has a large number of elements.