FEZ Mini Connection to iPhone

I’m building an FEZ Mini application that needs to communicate with an iPhone and send data back and forth (not files but data streams). I know that the iPhone does not support the Bluetooth Serial Profile so I’m thinking that WiFi is my only other option. I’m not an iPhone expert so I’m not clear exactly how this WiFi connection should work.

Since the Mini doesn’t support the ZeroG WiFi Expansion board, is my only option then the WiFly GSX board? Has anybody done this? Would I need the WiFly to be a router for the iPhone to connect to, or would adhoc work? I’m pretty fuzzy about this setup so any suggestions as to how to send data back and forth to an iPhone would be most appreciated.

In all this, I think your biggest problem is in the iphone, what application are you going to use or how are you going to program it and get it “okay-ed” by apple! Or are you going to use the web browser but how can you transfer data there?

What I have done before is use a free telnet client on iphone and then connect to fez. Then I can type command on the telnet program and FEZ, that has a telnet server, will see them and interpret them.

See this video. It uses FEZ Mini Robot and WiFi http://www.youtube.com/user/rgelb1#p/a/u/1/KMI4oVpQ6So

See this too My Robot Takes the Next Step - YouTube

The iPhone application will be custom written (not by me). It will connect to the Mini, send a byte stream, read a byte stream, and display the contents of the stream. I have it working with Bluetooth on an Android phone and now need to make a hardware/software version for the iPhone.

You’re right in that the challenge is understanding the capabilities of the iPhone and whether the Mini can support the type of WiFi connectivity the iPhone has available.