Fez Medusa Shield 3D - Bluetooth not working

Hi everyone,

I’m a student at the university of Antwerp and I’m having some troubles.
I want to create a bluetooth-connection using the Arduino due, combined with the Fez Medusa Shield 3D and a gadgeteer Bluetooth 1.1 module.

When I compile and upload my code, I can’t find any bluetooth connection and there is nothing printed in my serial monitor.

Does anyone see what I’m doing wrong?

CODE:

#include <Wire.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <Gadgeteering.h>
#include <Mainboards/FEZMedusaShield3D.h>
#include <Modules/Bluetooth.h>

using namespace gadgeteering;
using namespace gadgeteering::mainboards;
using namespace gadgeteering::modules;

fez_medusa_shield_3d board;
bluetooth BT(4);

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(“Start”);
BT.set_device_baud(38400);
BT.set_device_name(“Gadgeteer”);
BT.set_pin_code(“1234”);
BT.client_mode();

}

void loop() {
Serial.println(“Hello World”);
delay(1000);
}

Thanks!

@ Verspeeks - Regretfully the Medusa has been discontinued for some time. Not all of the module drivers were ever fully completed or tested, especially the Bluetooth module. I would not rely on the driver we provided in the only SDK release (which I believe was a beta) as working.

@ john - thanks for the explanation!

Is there a way I can fix the issue?
Is there a working driver available on the web?

Thanks!

@ Verspeeks - Since it was discontinued, we never finished the driver. You can find the source at https://bitbucket.org/ghi_elect/gadgeteering if you want to investigate it yourself.

@ john - would it work with another mainboard?
Or should I stop using the bluetooth module and start searching for another way to transfer the data?

@ Verspeeks - It was working in NETMF, though we did discontinue the module itself.