Fez Hydra ethernet code examples

Hi I am new to the whole gadgeteer thing. I was wondering if any one could provide me a code example or tell me what I am missing with getting the ENC28 working on the hydra. I have the newest firmware and SDK
Thanks for any help

Hi Alpha095, welcome to the community.

What do you mean by what am I missing? Have you tried a project with the ENC28 module? I can tell you though that you will need the Ethernet version of the firmware on the board. Do you have that one installed on your Hydra? More information will be needed to help you. :slight_smile:

I believe I have v4.1.3.1 installed when checked yesterday. I don’t have it in front of me right now because I am at work :slight_smile:

From my memory all I was trying to do was create a new instance of EthernetENC28

I set the mac address via MFDeploy and marked it to use Dhcp.

EthernetENC28 enc =  new EthernetENC28(3);
enc.EnableDhcp ();

when I call enc.EnableDhcp (); it throws an exception.

What I mean by missing something. I have no idea where to get started :stuck_out_tongue:

Hi Alpha,

This instance:

EthernetENC28 enc =  new EthernetENC28(3);
enc.EnableDhcp ();

is part of the incomplete OSH library to make Ethernet Dynamic. Currently to get Ethernet to work you will need to flash the board with the Ethernet version of the firmware. After the firmware is present, you will need to connect the ENC28 module to socket 3 only. You can then use any of the Ethernet examples on our support page (GHI Electronics – Where Hardware Meets Software) to get your Ethernet project working.

You will know if the Ethernet version is on your board if you reboot it and it seems to lock up. Currently the ENC28 module needs to be in socket 3 to complete the boot cycle.

I guess the question is where do I find the Ethernet firmware?
Is this the guide I should be using? http://wiki.tinyclr.com/index.php?title=Firmware_Update_FEZ_Hydra