FEZ Domino Desktop Manual Control of LEDs

I’m fairly new to this, but I have worked out how to use a Console Application project to automatically switch LEDs on and off which are connected to my FEZ Domino’s various Analogue and Digital Pins, given the many tutorial examples available online - The FEZ Domino is connected to the Desktop via USB. I have also come up with a Windows Application project Form which has radio buttons which turns on and off coloured pictureboxes on the same form. I have even put both projects into the same solution and they both work in splendid isolation!

My problem now is trying to work out how to pass the desired status of the LEDs from the Windows Application project form to the Console Application project in order to achieve manual control of the LEDs from the Desktop. Not being a C# guru, I am not sure if this is achieved by global variables, strings or some other clever way and would therefore appreciate if someone could please point me in the right direction.

Many Thanks

Ian.

The easiest way now is to use a serial port. Yes you are connected over USB but that is used for debugging. You can use it for both but I do not recommend song so. What other gear do you have? If nothing then get yourself an RS232 shield. Google or up.

Welcome to the community.

Thanks Gus.

Silly question if I may - Does using an RS232 shield also require a serial connection on my Laptop? Also, would you recommend any particular RS232 Shield for the Domino?

What I would like to eventually do is use my microcontroller to support an underwater ROV via an Ethernet cable between the Laptop and Microcontroller, as I understand that Ethernet cables can be much longer than other types of tethers (I have seen the serial Underwater ROV on the TinyCLR site for the Panda by the way). With this in mind, is there something else I need to do here for an Ethernet connection?