Error when creating new 4.2 project

I am a total newby to Gadgeteer, .net, c#, and need help resolving an error so I can get started.

I have FEZ Cerbuino Bee. I have installed and reinstalled the the 4.2 software and updated the firmware many times (most recently with the July 23 version).

I am using Microsoft c# visual express.

When I create a new program and select 4.2 I get the following error " Warning 1 A problem occurred while trying to set the “References” parameter for the IDE’s in-process compiler. Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component. GadgeteerApp1

Any ideas on how to fix it? I am anxious to start building!

Thank you for the help.

Also, I installed the “non-ethernet” version of the firmware, since I do not have a wifi shield.

Did you install or verified that you have the 3 things listed here Support – GHI Electronics

If using 4.2 then the 3 installs are http://www.tinyclr.com/forum/topic?id=7982

Welcome to the community

I am using Windows XP. I have followed the download directions for 4.2 and have re-installed several times. Here is what I did

1. Installed Microsoft Visual C# Express Studio
  2. Uninstalled Microsofts NETMF 4.1 SDK
  3. Uninstalled all GHI installations
  4. Downloaded the 4.2 software (Microsoft .NET Micro Framework SDK v4.2 Version 4.2.0.0 is now installed)
  5. Loaded Tiny Booter using STDFU tester - worked great
  6. Loaded TinyCLR firmware using Microsoft .NET Frame 4.2 MFDeploy tool - worked great (once I found the MFDeploy tool)

not sure on USB drivers, I think windows installed them for me

4.2 QFE1?

And just to help, here’s the actual list of things you need to do from the thread Gus pointed out:

[quote]Required installations

1. Visual Studio 2010 or Visual C# express 2010 (free)
  2. Microsoft .NET Micro Framework 4.2 QE1 SDK http://www.ghielectronics.com/downloads/NETMF/Microsoft%20NETMF%204.2%20SDK%20(QFE1).zip