Decision Time

Hi gang, I am a recently retired Engineer (Civil, not Electrical lol) who has always had an interest in computer programming and electronics. I also like to play with micro’s, mostly picaxes (basic), PIC’s, etc in creating some fairly simple home automation programs. I live on a rural property, and have a water treatment system (with an Reverse Osmosis Unit etc), and I have written a fairly large monitoring application for monitoring the system using pixaxe’s (and I2C over 200 foot distances which doesn’t work very well) I am experienced in VB as well, so I naturally got drawn into the .net MF world a year or so ago, spend a few hundred $$ on netduino/netduino Go!, then discovered the Gadgeteer products from GHI, I’ve got a spyder 2, cobra 2 or 3, a bunch of gadgeteer sensors, etc along with the netduino stuff catching dust. I also have a beaglebone black, Pi, some teensy 3.5/3.6’s, lying around…

I would like to re-write my application to run on a more ‘capable’ platform than the PIC/Picaxe, and in the process I will have to learn a new language which is fine. So I could switch to arduino development, stay with NETMF (with or without gadgeteer), or maybe wait until you can program a beaglebone black from VS?

I have been playing around with the cobra and spyder trying to get a 4.3 inch NewHaven Touch to work using glide and touch. About 2 days invested so far…