DAC Board for Gadgeteer

I’m designing a Gadgeteer board for 2 channale 12bit DAC (MCP4922 chip).
May be someone is interested.
This very easy board uses the Microchip MCP4922 that has good performance and it’s interfaced via SPI S socket. The board supply 5V and has the MCP1541 reference voltage regulator to supply 4.096V to the DAC chip, so it can used with 1mV 12 bit resolution. I’ve prototyped on the Fez-Hydra board and works with no issue.
I avoided, for first release, the SMD components, so the board is bigger than smd version, obviously.
Dimensions are 1.6x1.3 inches ( 40x33 mm).
I will do a driver as soon as I get some spare time in the next days.

Excellent, great to see more people starting to deliver their own boards !

I’m far from an expert, but if you’re steering clear of SMD then you might want to increase the pad sizes around the PTH components, to help “novice” soldering. Some of those pads, particularly those on IC1 and IC2 look a tlittle small to me (but then again it is still a small board - maybe not tiny, but still small ! :slight_smile: )

This layout is still rough, need a bit of reworking, so I’ll get your suggestion although the real problem is the soldering of the SHF smd connector (I really hate them!!)

Do not forget the holes, rounded edges, marking.

Read the design guide.

You should consider to change from through-hole to SMD. It really isn’t that hard, even for a hobyist.

Nice! Check out the NET Gadgeteer Module Builder’s Guide version 1.7 at http://gadgeteer.codeplex.com/releases

Not less than 0805 SMD, please :hand: Do think at old hobbyists :wink:

Connector needs to be rotated 180 degrees.

@ Architect: Good catch … I didn’t realize that …
8)

I will finish the board tomorrow evening (I hope …).

This looks like it could be a fun board to play with :slight_smile:

A few comments: