Connecting FEZ Touch and the Music Shield to the Domino Board ?!

If I connect both shields at the same time to the domino board,
I can´t play MP3 files, the MusicShield-Driver throws an invalid operation exception.

Initialize Touch-Shield:

FEZ_Components.FEZTouch.TouchConfiguration touch_config = new FEZ_Components.FEZTouch.TouchConfiguration(SPI.SPI_module.SPI1, FEZ_Pin.Digital.Di3, FEZ_Pin.Digital.An0);

Initialize Music-Shield:

MusicShield musicShield = new MusicShield(SPI.SPI_module.SPI1, FEZ_Pin.Digital.An4, FEZ_Pin.Digital.Di3, FEZ_Pin.Digital.Di4);

I am new to the SPI stuff. How does it work?

Kind regards,
Carlo

Is it FEZ Domino or FEZ Panda II?

What your exception is is probably important - tell us!

Here’s how SPI works. You use the common SPI connection lines. You also connect individual IOs to the “chip select” (CS) lines of the device. When SPI communicates to the device it sets the CS line, then performs actions on the SPI lines. So it shares the SPI lines by telling the device to pay attention and the others ignore activity on the SPI lines.

In the case of the Touch shield, there are two functions that have a CS function - the LCD uses one (2nd param in the ctor) and the Touch uses SPI and the CS pin is the 2nd param in the ctor. In your case, you’re attempting to use Di3.

In the case of the Music shield, there are two CS pins - one for the DATA portion and one for the COMMAND portion. The DATA pin is the 2nd parameter in the constructor - in your case AN4. COMMAND pin is the 3rd parameter in the ctor - Di3.

So now to the exception. Each device is trying to use Di3 for different purposes. They conflict, and the exception is telling you that the pin is already in use.

To un-do that, you need to rewire the devices from your Domino and connect at least one of them to an unused pin.