Compatibility between .Net Gadgeteer and .Net Modules

Hello Everybody

I’m relatively new to this topic but find it a great Idea!
I would like to try some things out and do have some questions regarding compatibility.

For instance, I would like to use the G30 TH Module together with some Gadgeteer Modules, such as Camera, Ethernet J11D, USB Client SP, RFID Reader, LED 7C, LED Strip, Display N18 and Character Display Modules. Not all at the same time though.

Those Gadgeteer Sockets translate into so GPIO / VC / GND pins right? Hence I was wondering if some of the Gadgeteer ports were compatible with the G30 TH GPIO pins, if not all.

Thanks very much for your help and answers!
Best Regards
PLBXS

1 Like

No magic at work in Gadgeteer. To use Gadgeteer with any MCU it is just a matter of getting the right wires to the right places, meaning SPI to SPI, I2C to I2C, A to A, and GPIO to GPIO (with the correct interrupt support if needed).

Welcome to the forum.

Hi there, and welcome to the forum

TH modules aren’t directly compatible with Gadgeteer. There is also a software layer that has to provide mapping between the Gadgeteer driver and the mainboard - that’s not to say you can’t recreate the drivers in NETMF without the Gadgeteer framework, as other have done it.

Onto your modules. G30 and G80 are memory limited devices and have many less on-board peripherals, so several of the ones you list are not going to be supported. And since they’re also pin-limited, you may find combinations you can’t support as well, but I’m not going to list that. The simplest alternative in my opinion is to use the Fez Medusa 2 as your board instead of the TH. And if you do, you can see what is and isn’t compatible based on what sockets it has.

J11D is not supported; there’s no on-board Ethernet support. You need to use ENC28 module instead.