Can you help me buy the right gear

So, I am a Student starting a project with the Fez mini Robot, and I’d really appreciate help with deciding what to buy.

the products I have purchased are:
FEZ Mini robot kit
FEZ Ultimate Kit
USB Host Module (through lack of research).

The project I am starting is to connect a couple of wireless USB mice to the robot, so I can accurately track its movements. However I have come to realise I may need another main board to process the USB data out put of the mice, possibly the FEZ Cerbuino Bee, however I’d still like to use the functionality of the FEZ touch (v1.0)screen which this board seems like It wouldn’t support. is there a way I can use both, without having a third device. what would be your recommendations ?

Many thanks
Dan

Your panda can be connected to a USB mouse :slight_smile:

See this and welcome to the community http://ghielectronics.blogspot.com/2011/03/usb-host-support-is-added-on-fez-panda.html

Hi Dan, welcome to the forum

As Gus says, it would seem that with the USB Host cable mod you can get your Panda to read the USB mouse inputs. But my question comes from what you want to achieve.

Today your bot is run by Fez Mini, correct? Are you then hoping to have the data from the mouse as a form of “encoder data” that will let you figure out where in space the bot is located? If so, once you get that data, what do you want to do with it? Transmit it somewhere? Record to SD card? just display it on the Fez Touch shield that is sitting remote to the bot? Integrate the location back to the control mechanism for the bot itself?