Can not use SPI - OutputPort too slow - is Register class direct access an option?

I have a chip that does not work with SPI so I have to “bit bang” it.

The OutputPort is so slow I can see the lights update like a chaser pattern instead of the instant update I am looking for. I had the same speed issues in the netduino. In arduino I had to use direct memory access to get the speed needed. I am thinking I may need to do the same here but wanted to see if there are any other alternatives for faster pin updates.

• Seem from reading I would setup using OutputPort to the pin for proper setup … but then I could use the Register class to set the pin value quicker than using Write. If this is the only alternative and is correct … I need help with the address for pins d8 and d9.

• I realize I am a newbie attempting to use advanced features right off the bat … but I have a very focused goal. Once I see the system can handle running the number of chips needed, then I’ll work on all the fun stuff around it.

There is a lot involved in toggling pin on NETMF so bit banging work is not recommended.

What is the chip you are using that needs bit banging?

The LPD6803 (among others) inside the LED that come with IC’s built in. I have tried everything in arduino to work it using SPI, no luck (yet).

The datasheet is in Chinese only and can no longer find a link online. The example code in the datasheet is bit bang (data on/off - clock on/off).

I was hoping with the Register class I would be able to do this from managed code. In netduino someone wrote a “bit banger” native code driver, but it takes a firmware build / update. Sounds like learning the firmware build / update process may be easer than bit banging FEZ.

All this is experimental anyway … I may have to just go arduino mega and/or distributed.