Can .net micro framework project upgrade to .net core?

I am a web developer. But I have taken on a legacy project (about embedded hardware) which is written in C# with .net micro framework. My boss wants me to upgrade this project to .net core 3.1.

After searching on the Internet, it seems very hard to do that because the project code use so many built-in functionalities of .net micro framework 4.1.

For example:

TimeService.SetTimeZoneOffset(currentTimeZone * 2);

GHIElectronics.NETMF.Hardware.RealTimeClock.SetTime(dt);
        Microsoft.SPOT.Hardware.Utility.SetLocalTime(dt);

this first statement calls an extern method, which is:

/// <summary>
        /// Sets time zone of the system. Effective immediately.
        /// </summary>
        /// <param name="offsetInMinutes"></param>
        [MethodImplAttribute(MethodImplOptions.InternalCall)]
        public static extern void SetTimeZoneOffset(int offsetInMinutes);

and this extern method will call a C++ method.

I am filled with doubt about the possibility of upgrading .net micro framework to .net core.

Could you please give any comment or direction to make it?

Edit:
I used “.NET Portability Analyzer” in Visual Studio 2019. The report says that DDLs used in the legacy project are compatible with .net core.

See below:

Does it mean I can directly use these DDLs from .net micro framework? If so, will it take effect in cross-platform, e.g. Linux?

Thank you

Are you going to be using mono on Linux?

We have new product line coming that replaces the old micro framework. It will be a good idea to discuss your project with us. Can you please email or call GHI directly and we can discuss options.

@Ming.Shaw,

I think the question is more : “What hardware should I use if I need to use .NETCore ?” and “Why should I migrate my .NETMICRO project to .NETCore ?”