Button Click not firing

Hello,

Purchased a FEZ Start kit, IR Receiver, Ethernet shield, and Servo controller. This is for a home automation hobby project.

So far I’ve gotten everything up and running, Tivo remote (thumbs up and thumds down) control a servo, rotating 90 degrees to open or close a cabinet door in front of television. Additionally, send request out to Insteon controller to turn off lights. Each button press from remote blinks LED, and the other LED blinks while door is opening.

All events are firing as expected and app is working well.

The one issue I’m having is with the button included in the FEZ kit. I know I have my code correct, referencing proper digital pin, but my button click event never fires. I press the button, light comes on, but even never goes. Any chance of a hardware issue or any other gotchas? I know 100% for sure it isn’t the code, I’m a professional C# developer so I am sure of it.

Thanks.

Did you try connecting the button to different IO. I know you said you got C# covered but can we see a very small example on how to you have a button controlled?

At this point, the code is as simple as the brochure example to isolate the issue.

public static void Main()
{
// Create Button object assigned to the a Button Component connected to Di4 with interrupt feature
FEZ_Components.Button myButton = new FEZ_Components.Button(FEZ_Pin.Interrupt.Di4);
// Assign a method to run when any event happens with the component.
myButton.ButtonPressEvent += new FEZ_Components.Button.ButtonPressEventHandler(myButton_ButtonPressEvent);
// Hold the program
Debug.Print("I have nothing to do except waiting for Button activity");
Thread.Sleep(Timeout.Infinite);
}
static void myButton_ButtonPressEvent(FEZ_Pin.Interrupt pin, FEZ_Components.Button.ButtonState state)
{
if (state == FEZ_Components.Button.ButtonState.Pressed)
{
Debug.Print("My Button is pressed");
}
else
{
Debug.Print("My Button is not pressed");
}
}