Brushless Motor Controller Code

Thanks to Chris for posting his code at:
http://code.tinyclr.com/project/62/brushless-motor-esc-for-aircrafts/

However, I’m having one issue. I wrote a quick test program to get things working that basically increases the power by 20% every time I push a button. The problem is that I get zero increase in power between 80% power and 100% power. Does anyone know if this is an issue with the driver code or possibly something I need to change in the ESC? This is my first time dealing with brushless motors & ESCs so I fear there’s something in the ESC that needs to be changed. However, a code fix would be easier to remedy since I haven’t yet had time to figure out how to program the ESC.

My motor:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=14396

My ESC:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=9483

Thanks!

Ian

Do you have a scope you can use to probe the signal?

I seem to recall there was a bug in the original driver code, but I think it was only going from backwards to forwards.

Did you calibrate the ESC?

Also note that ESCs can be kinda picky. Without fail I always have to code a new ESC config class for each of the speedies I use it with.

Unfortunately, I do not have a scope right now that works.

What’s the process for calibrating an ESC? Like I said, this is my first time to deal with them. This would be some great additional info to add to the code page.

I think I found what you’re talking about…
http://code.google.com/p/arducopter/wiki/Quad_ESC

I’m not using a remote yet, but I should be able to set this up on the breadboard and programmatically power it up and go through the process and see what happens. If there’s more that I should know that they didn’t mention, please let me know.