As a woodworker I enjoyed this link. I could use this at times. Maybe a good use for my Fez.Spider

See the very long link.

http://www.finewoodworking.com/item/57081/mit-students-and-professor-invent-handheld-cnc-router-system?&lookup=auto&V18=&V19=&V20=&V21=&V22=&V23=&V24=&V25=&V26=&V53=&V54=&Taun_Per_Flag=true&utm_source=email&utm_medium=eletter&utm_content=20120811-common-mistakes&utm_campaign=fine-woodworking-eletter

4 Likes

That is pretty cool. Thanks!

Very clever :slight_smile:

I glanced over that article last week and didn’t bother watching the video because I just assumed it was a camera telling him where to move the bit… Thank you for bringing this to my attention again. That is truly a brilliant idea!

ianlee74

I use routers all the time.
Viewing the bit can be almost impossible at times. Now how will I mount a Fez.Spider onto my best router?

Just viewing could be a GREAT help.

[quote=“willgeorge”]Viewing the bit can be almost impossible at times. Now how will I mount a Fez.Spider onto my best router?

Just viewing could be a GREAT help.
[/quote]

Another interesting idea. My assumption when I first glanced at that article was they had mounted a camera to the view window. It doesn’t appear they are using a camera, though. They are tracking location using the markers on the board. Here’s more info.

http://www.alecrivers.com/positioncorrectingtools/files/Position-Correcting%20Tools%20for%202D%20Digital%20Fabrication.pdf

But, for the problem you are trying to solve… I would first attempt to attach the camera module to the view window of your router and the T35 & spider mounted on the outside much like they did. You may also need to add additional lighting to the view area if your router doesn’t have good lighting.